International Profile: Joe Vogel

Posted on Updated on

The  Curious case of Joseph Vogel

Work, wit and wins.  Three words that personify the ageless Homenetman center, Joe Vogel.

Joe carried is used to carrying his teammates.
Joe is used to carrying his teammates.

The American has earned love and respect in Lebanon by simply doing his job. Wherever Joe goes, winning happens and it just won’t stop. Just last week, Homenetmen, snatched a win from the Al-Riyadi Lebanese juggernaut. Joe, now 40 years old, was relentless against his former team (17 points), to help pull off one the largest upsets in Lebanese basketball history.  I had a cup of Joe with him this week, here’s what the fun-loving big-man had to say:

Rambeeni: What’s your crowning achievement in basketball?

JV: Being drafted to the NBA in 1996 and of course the 2002 and 2006 Worlds with Lebanon.

Rambeeni: What does a typical workout look like for Joe Vogel?

JV: I usually get an hour of shooting in the morning, just to keep my rhythm. Then about an hour of weights before my team practice at night.

Rambeeni: When you first came to Lebanon, did you think you would spend the majority of your career here?

JV: No I didn’t. After my first season here, I actually told myself I wouldn’t come back. We had a good season but it was very long and lots of political turmoil, that I wasn’t used to. When they offered me the nationality, I had to consider it, as it would be great for my career, it was.

Rambeeni: What kind of music do you rock on game day?

JV: Rap, Hip-hop, some 90’s rock ‘n roll. Gotta get myself going! Lol

I think JV and Homenetmen fans would agree to beat their drums to this song.

Rambeeni: Which Lebanese big man do you think has potential to be a star?

ali haidar
Ali’s lefty will dominate for years to come

JV: As far as young talent, I believe in Ali Haidar. He’s not a center, but he’s strong and can play the 5 for a limited time. What he needs now is to not stay on the bench. He needs to play minutes and needs to be allowed to make mistakes. He’s young, but too good to be sitting on the bench.

Rambeeni: With surprise wins and great spirit with Homenetmen, how far do you think you guys can go?

JV: The sky is the limit. If we take care of business in the 2nd round and finish on a high, anything can happen in a playoff series. As you can see, we have great home court advantage and that helps us a lot.

Rambeeni: Age, just a number?

JV: Hahaha. I want to say yes, but the fact is, as you get older, playing big minutes mean you have to change your lifestyle, eat, sleep and train differently. I used to be able to train very hard every day. These days, I have to be careful not to over-train. There’s a fine line between doing too much and not enough. You have to listen you your body.

Wise words, remember this advice ballers.

Rambeeni: Do u think the center position has changed in the last decade?

JV: Yes for sure. As you can see, there aren’t a lot of true 5-men. Most can shoot the ball from 20 feet. The game as a whole has changed. It’s more of a guard’s game now. You don’t really see the ball go inside that much.

Rambeeni: What were your best years professionally?

JV: 2004-11 were my best years as far as winning. We had Great teams at Riyadi, that’s when we won all our championships.

Rambeeni: How long are you planning on playing?

JV: I have one more year with Homenetmen, after that, not sure. I’ll talk it over with my wife and decide what’s best for my family.

Rambeeni: Would you leave Lebanon when your career is over, knowing the impact you’ve had on Lebanese basketball?

JV: Yes for sure. I like it here, but my home is in America and I’ve missed it over the last 20 years. I’m excited to start the next chapter of my life.

Rambeeni: Who was your basketball idol?

JV: Larry Bird, Michael Jordan and Magic Johnson. That was the era I grew up in. In my opinion, it was the best for basketball, amazing talent and they knew how to play the game. Very physical and most had an all-around game. It wasn’t just dunking or shooting. Every player could do it all.

Classic.

Rambeeni: Any regrets?

JV: Probably one. I would’ve stayed in the states and played in the CBA or NBDL when I was younger, instead of coming overseas. If I did that, I think I would’ve given myself a better chance of making the NBA. But I was young and didn’t know much. Haha.

I asked coach Jad Fatouh (Club Manama assistant and former Al-Riyadi assistant coach) about Vogel, This is the answer I got:

“Joe Vogel is the most dedicated hard working player I’ve ever worked with , a true professional, on and off the court. I worked with Joe for years not only on the team, but also as an individual trainer, he’s a competitor, a winner and his career speaks for itself”. joe strong

This is no ordinary Joe, as Fatouh said, his accolades speak volumes:

  • Western Athletic Conference All-Tournament Team -95
  • Saudi Arabian League Champion -99
  • Asian Club Championships -99, 00
  • WAC 2nd Team
  • Lebanese League Champion -00, 05, 06, 07,08,09,2010.
  • MVP of the Asian Cup tournament -99
  • Lebanese National Team -01, 03, 05-07
  • Asian Championships -01 (Finalist), 02, 05
  • World Championships in Indianapolis (USA) -02 -06
  • Lebanese Cup Winner -04, 06, 07
  • Lebanese League Regular Season Champion -04, 05, 06, 07
  • Asia-Basket.com Lebanese League All-Domestic Players Team -04, 05, 06
  • Asia-Basket.com Lebanese League All-Defensive Team -04, 05
  • Asia-Basket.com All-Lebanese League Center of the Year -05
  • Asia-Basket.com All-Lebanese League Domestic Player of the Year -05
  • Asia-Basket.com All-Lebanese League 1st Team -05
  • Arab Club Championships -05 (Silver, Asia-Basket All-1st Team), 06 (Winner), 07 (Winner)

Fans will never forget what Joe has accomplished for Lebanon. Dominating the paint with great defense, timely footwork, launching daggers from long-range, timeless. I want a Joe Vogel jersey, if anyone has one, I’d pay good money for that. He plays with heart for Homenetmen; Lebanese fans unanimously support him, no matter where he plays. The living legend has done more for Lebanon than Lebanon has done for him, that’s love.

Much Love and basketball,

Rambeeni

4 thoughts on “International Profile: Joe Vogel

    Anonymous said:
    March 17, 2014 at 6:24 pm

    Nice one beebsters.. you could have asked him for a jersey he sounds too cool..

    Liked by 1 person

      Anonymous said:
      March 18, 2014 at 6:59 pm

      I want one to

      Like

        Anonymous said:
        March 18, 2014 at 7:00 pm

        I know Joe got one for his cuz tony

        Like

    Anonymous said:
    March 17, 2014 at 8:51 pm

    nice bb

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment